top of page

International Competitions

World Quizzing Championships

The World Quizzing Championships (WQC) are the official world championships of the International Quizzing Association (IQA). They have been held annually since 2003. They consist of 240 questions, spread across the 8 IQA subject categories, and are answered in two blocks of one hour each. 

The event takes place on the first Saturday in June at numerous locations around the world. The SQV organizes the event at its on-site quiz locations; registration takes place as usual via our calendar.

The results of the last few years can be found on the WCQ website; additional statistics can be found in the Wikipedia article.

International Quizzing Championships / Quiz Olympiad

The International Quizzing Championships IQC (held in 2022 as the Ultimate Quizzing Championships and previously since 2004 as the European Quizzing Championships) are an annual IQA event where quizzers from all over the world meet in one city over a weekend to compete in several disciplines and socialize.

Every four years (first in Athens in 2016, then in Krakow in 2021, postponed due to COVID), the Quiz Olympiad takes place instead. In 2024, the Olympics will be held in Fuengirola, Spain from Nov. 7 to Nov. 10.

The SQV is putting together a four-person national team for these events, but anyone can register for them (directly with the IQA on the respective event website), and of course we hope that as many people as possible from Switzerland will take the opportunity to represent our country at international level, meet the best quizzers in the world in direct competition and simply have fun together.

Qutopia ProTour

The Qutopia ProTour is an international quiz tournament series consisting of the monthly or bi-monthly individual quizzes "Unlimited", "Around the World in 80 Questions" and "Squizzed" as well as several Open quizzes organized by national quiz associations, the results of which are combined into a ranking list. In order to be included in the ProTour ranking, it is necessary to create an account with Qutopia. Some of these quizzes are organized by the SQV (see calendar of events), but the quizzes can also be played without supervision (but will not be included in the overall ranking).

OQL World Championships

The Online Quiz League (OQL) organization held its first written world championships on 23 March 2024.

bottom of page

top of page

Internationale Wettbewerbe

World Quizzing Championships

Die World Quizzing Championships (WQC) sind die offiziellen Weltmeisterschaften der International Quizzing Association (IQA). Sie finden seit 2003  jährlich statt. Sie bestehen aus 240 Fragen, verteilt auf die 8 Themenkategorien der IQA, und werden in zwei Blöcken zu je einer Stunde beantwortet. 

Die Veranstaltung findet jeweils am ersten Samstag im Juni dezentral an zahlreichen Orten weltweit statt. Der SQV organisiert die Durchführung an seinen Präsenz-Quiz-Standorten; die Anmeldung erfolgt wie gewohnt über unseren Termin-Kalender.

Die Resultate der letzten paar Jahre findet man auf der Seite der WCQ; weiter zurückreichende Statistiken gibt es im englischsprachigen Wikipedia-Artikel.

International Quizzing Championships / Quiz-Olympiade

Die International Quizzing Championships IQC (2022 als Ultimate Quizzing Championships und zuvor seit 2004 als European Quizzing Championships ausgetragen) sind eine jährliche Veranstaltung der IQA, bei der sich Quizzer aus aller Welt an einem Wochenende in einer Stadt zum Wettkampf in mehreren Disziplinen sowie zum geselligen Austausch treffen.

Alle vier Jahre (erstmals 2016 in Athen, danach COVID-bedingt auf 2021 verschoben in Krakau) findet stattdessen die Quiz-Olympiade statt. 2024 wird die Olympiade vom 7. Nov. bis 10. Nov. an der Costa del Sol durchgeführt. 

Der SQV stellt für diese Veranstaltungen eine vierköpfige Nationalmannschaft zusammen, es können sich aber alle (direkt bei der IQA auf der jeweiligen Veranstaltungswebsite) dafür anmelden, und wir hoffen natürlich, dass möglichst viele Leute aus der Schweiz die Gelegenheit nutzen, unser Land auf internationaler Ebene zu vertreten, den besten Quizzern der Welt im direkten Wettkampf zu begegnen und einfach zusammen Spass zu haben.

Qutopia ProTour

Die Qutopia ProTour ist eine internationale Quizturnier-Serie, die aus den monatlich oder zweimonatlich durchgeführten Einzelquiz "Unlimited", "In 80 Fragen um die Welt" und "Squizzed" sowie mehren Open-Quiz nationaler Quizverbände besteht, deren Ergebnisse zu einer Rangliste zusammengefasst werden. Um in die ProTour-Wertung zu kommen, ist es notwendig, bei Qutopia einen Account zu erstellen. Ein Teil dieser Quiz werden vom SQV durchgeführt (siehe Terminkalender), daneben können die Quiz auch ohne Aufsicht gespielt werden (fliessen dann aber nicht in die Gesamtwertung ein).

OQL World Championships

Die Organisation Online Quiz League (OQL) führt am 23. März ihre ersten schriftlichen Weltmeisterschaften durch. Weitere Details werden bald bekannt gegeben.

bottom of page